My Brecon Beacons: A Former Record Label Chief and Local Author’s Views…

Author and photographer Adele Nozedar fell so in love with the Beacons the first time she visited, that she moved in 10 days later. She is still enamoured of the wild landscapes. Her current book, The Hedgerow Handbook, was directly inspired by the Beacons and contains recipes for Brecon Beacons Hedgerow Jam and Llanfrynach Summer Pudding!

1.    Where I live could be described in one word as: ….. Elemental

2.    I would take a first-timer to the Brecon Beacons “to Cantref Wood for a picnic, if the weather is good and Dan yr Ogof caves if it’s bad.”  

3.    My favourite restaurant is “oooh…don’t know if I should answer this because this place is a well-kept secret, but it’s the Travellers Rest at Talybont on Usk…… because it’s consistently superb food and the location is glorious and the owners Doug and Joy are the the loveliest people you could ever want to meet…….and their Wimberry Trumble is included in my book!”

4.    My favourite event in the Brecon Beacons is: “The many village fetes and fairs that take place in the Summer……..  because……they are charming, quirky, and always have something completely unexpected happen…”

5.    My favourite pub is: “I am lucky enough to be close to Talybont, where there are 2 fabulous pubs, The Travellers Rest (see above) and The Star Inn, which consistently wins Powys Pub of the Year. Otherwise, I’ll go wherever my friends are, because the people are the most important thing about going to the pub”

©

6.    My favourite view of the Brecon Beacons is: “The view of Pen y Fan from the Upper Neuadd Reservoir. I see it every day and it always, always takes my breath away.” 

7. If you’re on a budget the best advice for the Brecon Beacons: “Is that’s easy…the views are free, but priceless. Picnic and a walk whatever the weather!…There’s some great camping, too. My favourite is Raquetty Lodge at Clyro (does that count?)….” 

8. I would describe the people of the Brecon Beacons as “astonishingly varied. Farmers, musicians, writers, doctors, shaman, one of the world’s leading mezzotint artists.”

9. If you have half a day out, I would suggest you ……”take a hedgerow tour!

Best way to see the Brecon Beacons ©

10. The best way to see the Brecon Beacons is on “foot or by bike. That way you get the sounds of the birdsong and the scents of the flowers and the wet mud.”

11. The best season to travel to the Brecon Beacons is… “It’s hard to say. It’s great all year round so long as you’re prepared for the weather.”

This entry was posted in My Brecon Beacons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Brecon Beacons: A Former Record Label Chief and Local Author’s Views…

  1. Pingback: A local author’s view of her Brecon Beacons’ favourites | Talybont-on-Usk

Leave a Reply

